EL James wins all the things

Big week this week for EL James (when is it not?): after being named ‘publishing person of the year‘ by Publishers Weekly last Friday – insert your own Simpsons reference – the author and anagram of Jams Eel, which could conceivably be a sex act featured in her next novel, saw Fifty Shades of Grey beat off all comers (snigger) to take the title of popular fiction book of the year at the National Book Awards. Since civilisation had already ended by that point, presumably the canapés at the ceremony weren’t up to much.

James’ triumph over Bernard Cornwell, Victoria Hislop, Dorothy Koomson, Kate Mosse and JoJo Moyes at the Awards must seem like some sort of vindication for Publishers Weekly, and particularly so due to its placing in the popular fiction category. The magazine’s Rachel Deale justified their controversial choice thusly:

One thing that’s important to note about the Fifty Shades trilogy is that it continues to connect with people who claim they are not regular readers. Historically, this tends to be the case with massive hits: the same was said of the Harry Potter books, the Twilight Saga, and the Hunger Games[…]

Although publishers have long watched as books become successful for reasons ranging from quality or timeliness to the benefit of a big-budget marketing push, they still don’t know the magic that will connect readers with their content. And Fifty Shades, which bypassed the traditional channels to find its initial readership, makes a bold statement about what happens when the audience can lay claim to the discovery process.

Other notables from the awards ceremony: Hilary Mantel also continues to win all the things, capping the year that saw her become the first woman to gain a second Booker Prize with a second win as UK author of the year. Eowyn Ivey won international author of the year for her widely beloved The Snow Child (and made moot that weird decision to nominate Patrick DeWitt for The Sister Brothers, even though he was up for a Booker for the same novel in 2011). It was a big night for TV stars, with Miranda Hart, David Walliams and the Hairy Bikers all scooping various prizes.

Ian Rankin, meanwhile, was presented with an outstanding achievement award for his contribution to literature, no doubt due to the bump in credibility given him by the tireless work of certain academics, cough cough.

EL James, Eowyn Ivey, Fifty Shades of Grey, Hilary Mantel, Ian Rankin, National Book Awards, Publishers Weekly, The Snow Child

Chris Ward

Chris Ward

Chris Ward writes and says things about books and music and films and what have you, even when no one is reading or listening.
He was chief hack and music editor of webzine Brazen from 2006 to 2010, and hosted Left of the Dial on Subcity Radio from 2008 to 2011.
He can be heard semi-regularly on the podcast of Scottish cultural blog Scots Whay Hae ('20th best website in Scotland!' - The List), and in 2011 founded Seen Your Video, a film and music podcast and blog based in Glasgow. He has a Masters degree in Scottish Literature from the University of Glasgow that will never have any practical application. You are on a hiding to nothing if you follow him on Twitter expecting any kind of hot publishing scoop.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Get the latest news and event info straight to your inbox


+44 207 183 2399

Incubation at Ravensbourne | 6 Penrose Way | Greenwich Peninsula | SE10 0EW

© 2019 BookMachine We love your books

%d bloggers like this: