Want to win a book industry award?

Winning awards won’t make you rich, and it may not help you sell books. But It will spruce up your CV, massage your ego immensely, impress your boss and on occasion you can even win a mighty fine prize.

The following are noteworthy prizes, awards and programmes available for publishing superstars to apply for. There are plenty more for teams to win, but here are individual ones you can focus on for now.

Kim Scott Walwyn Prize

Founded in 2003, the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn – who was Publishing Director at Oxford University Press and who died in 2002 – and celebrates exceptional women in publishing.

More info here.

Pandora Prize

The Pandora Prize is run by Women in Publishing and is awarded annually to a woman who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the publishing industry.

More info here.

The Bookseller’s Rising Stars

The Bookseller picks a number of Rising Stars annually for a feature on the next generation of movers and shakers in the book industry.The list is about the ‘young guns’, but it is not necessarily about age, as it can include a trade veteran who has changed roles or a seasoned professional from outside the industry who is new to the business.

More info here.

The Bookseller 100

The Bookseller 100 is a British-based list compiled of those who influence the book industry significantly in any given year. Individual influence is measured by the company size, a campaigning voice, or technological innovation to name but three.

More info here.

The Nibbies (British Industry Book Awards)

Organised by The Booksellter since 2016, The Nibbies brings together books of the year with trade accolades, including awards for the following ‘Great People’ of the year: Editor Literary Agent, Rights Professional and Individual Bookseller.

More info here.

The FutureBook Awards

The FutureBook Awards celebrate those companies and individuals who are playing a key role in driving the publishing industry forward. Two individual awards are available for Digital Achiever and Leader of the Year.

More info here.

Young Stationers’ Prize

The Young Stationers’ Prize is given annually to a person who will generally be under 40 who, in the opinion of the judges, has made the most recognisable contribution to the trades of the Company, as well as for future promise. All those working in the press, publishing, and other trades of the Stationers’ Company are eligible to apply.

More info here.

The British Council Young Creative Entrepreneur (YCE)

The British Council has been pioneering to build a strong community and professional network of creative businesses, through the reward programme Young Creative Entrepreneur Awards. The awards help nurture enterprise across seven categories – including publishing.

More info here.

The British Council lifetime achievement award

The ELTons are the only international awards to recognise innovative achievement in English Language Teaching (ELT) publishing globally. The awards have been organised into seven categories including the British Council Lifetime Achievement Award.

More info here.

IPG Young independent publisher of the year

The IPG Independent Publishing Awards are awarded annually at a prestigious ceremony in Oxfordshire. Judges include publishers, agents, Book Fair executives and other top industry professionals.

More info here.

Frankfurt Fellowship programme

Publishers, editors, rights and licensing professionals, agents and product managers (print and digital) can apply for the Frankfurt Fellowship. It takes place in the run-up to the Frankfurt Book Fair and focuses on information exchange, professional dialogue and the creation of networks between young international publishers. More than 280 participants from 55 countries have taken part in this experience.

More info here.

The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards

The Awards are a celebration of publishing and related activities outside the UK. These awards take place at The London Book Fair and look outward, to showcase the wonderful activities of the rest of the world’s publishing activity. They cover all areas of international publishing including: academic and scholarly, children’s publishing and digital innovation.

More info here.

The London Book Fair Trailblazer Awards

Founded in 2016,these awards were created to celebrate the next generation of the UK publishing industry; those ‘roaring through their 20s’.

More info here.

The Unsung Heroes of Publishing awards

The awards celebrate talented specialists working in-house or freelancing in and around our book publishing industry. This annual shortlist  ‘lifts the veil’ and champions some of the individuals working tirelessly, and sometimes less glamorously, behind the scenes.

More info here.

PW Star Watch

Publishers Weekly, in association with the Frankfurt Book Fair, created PW Star Watch to identify and celebrate members of the U.S. publishing community who are on the rise and bring recognition to them on a global stage.

More info here.

So how can you win a publishing award? The BookMachine team have won or been shortlisted for a few: Kim Scott WalwynThe Bookseller Rising StarsTools of Change Start-up Showcase, British Council Young Creative Entrepreneur, London Book Fair Trailblazer Awards and Unsung Heroes of Publishing.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: