• Home
  • Articles
  • Little, Brown and Blackwell’s top Bookseller Industry Awards

Little, Brown and Blackwell’s top Bookseller Industry Awards

The Bookseller Industry Awards took place last night in London, with a crowded field of winners led by Blackwell’s, named Book Retailer of the Year, and Little, Brown, who took home the evening’s biggest prize, Publisher of the Year. The latter was Little, Brown’s second win in the category since 2010, bestowed for a banner year that saw it publish hugely successful titles including Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch and J.K. Rowling’s pseudonymous Robert Galbraith novel, The Cuckoo’s Calling. Blackwell’s, meanwhile, was cited for its work integrating digital and physical book sales from its development hub in Shoreditch, amongst other innovations. Other publishers joining Little, Brown in victorious celebration were Canongate (Independent Publisher of the Year), HarperCollins Children’s Books (Children’s Publisher of the Year), Bloomsbury (Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year), Edward Elgar Publishing (Independent Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year), Pan McMillan (The Bookseller Special Award), Jonathan Cape (Imprint of the Year), Faber & Faber (Digital Strategy of the Year) and Orion (Marketing Strategy of the Year, for Gone Girl). Booksellers recognised alongside Blackwell’s were London’s Dulwich Books (Independent Bookshop of the Year), The Edinburgh Bookshop (Children’s Bookseller of the Year) and Sainsbury’s (ebook Retailer of the Year), with Library of the Year going to Midlothian. Awards were also given to a number of individuals in recognition of their work across the industry: Dame Gail Rebuck, chair of Penguin Random House UK (the Booksellers Association’s award for Outstanding Contribution to the Book Trade, for the Books Are My Bag campaign); Helen Conford of Penguin Press (Editor of the Year for work on numerous titles, notably Morrissey’s Autobiography); Caroline Dawnay of United Agents (Literary Agent of the Year); Andrea Joyce of Canongate and Zosia Knopp of Penguin (jointly awarded Rights Professional of the Year); Rachael Wing of the Wallingford Bookshop (Young Retailer of the Year); Ben Willis of Headline (Publicity Campaign of the Year for The Silent Wife) and, in a further victory for Blackwell’s, Paul Thornton, of their Manchester branch (Manager of the Year). Proof-distribution platform NetGalley took the Supply Chain Innovation Award.

awards, Blackwell's, Little Brown, The Bookseller, The Bookseller Industry Awards

Chris Ward

Chris Ward

Chris Ward writes and says things about books and music and films and what have you, even when no one is reading or listening.
He was chief hack and music editor of webzine Brazen from 2006 to 2010, and hosted Left of the Dial on Subcity Radio from 2008 to 2011.
He can be heard semi-regularly on the podcast of Scottish cultural blog Scots Whay Hae ('20th best website in Scotland!' - The List), and in 2011 founded Seen Your Video, a film and music podcast and blog based in Glasgow. He has a Masters degree in Scottish Literature from the University of Glasgow that will never have any practical application. You are on a hiding to nothing if you follow him on Twitter expecting any kind of hot publishing scoop.


Comments are closed.

Get the latest news and event info straight to your inbox


+44 203 040 2298

6 Mitre Passage, Digital Greenwich - 10th Floor, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10 0ER

© 2019 BookMachine We love your books

%d bloggers like this: