• Home
  • Articles
  • Two more Terry Pratchett novels set for posthumous publication

Two more Terry Pratchett novels set for posthumous publication

When Terry Pratchett died last week at the age of 66, he left behind a body of work that includes 40 novels set in his beloved Discworld, alongside a couple dozen further titles. It is a substantial bibliography by any standard, and one that his fans will no doubt take great comfort and pleasure in revisiting over the coming months. Those fans, however, can take further solace in the knowledge that the day when they have no more Pratchett left to read hasn’t arrived just yet: the author completed two final novels that are both likely to see publication this year.

One of those is the 41st (and presumably final, unless Pratchett’s daughter Rhianna takes up his mantle, as he had given her his blessing to do) Discworld title, The Shepherd’s Crown. The book is the fifth to feature apprentice witch Tiffany Aching, the lone recurring Discworld protagonist whose exploits are explicitly aimed at a young adult audience. It follows previous Aching adventures The Wee Free Men, A Hat Full of Sky, Wintersmith and I Shall Wear Midnight. Paul Kidby – who has illustrated the Discworld novels since 2001’s The Last Heroclaimed on his blog in February that the book would see publication this autumn, but publisher Transworld says no release date has been set as yet.

The other as yet unreleased title, however, does have a concrete release date: The Long Utopia – the fourth in a series of science-fiction novels Pratchett co-authored with Stephen Baxter, following The Long Earth, The Long War and The Long Mars – will see publication on 18 June through Random House. The two authors were signed to a five book deal, and have produced a novel a year together since The Long Earth‘s 2012 publication, but it remains unclear at this point whether or not Baxter will see the series through to completion by himself.

Discworld, Paul Kidby, random house, Stephen Baxter, Terry Pratchett, The Long Earth, The Long Utopia, The Shepherd's Crown, Tiffany Aching, Transworld

Chris Ward

Chris Ward

Chris Ward writes and says things about books and music and films and what have you, even when no one is reading or listening.
He was chief hack and music editor of webzine Brazen from 2006 to 2010, and hosted Left of the Dial on Subcity Radio from 2008 to 2011.
He can be heard semi-regularly on the podcast of Scottish cultural blog Scots Whay Hae ('20th best website in Scotland!' - The List), and in 2011 founded Seen Your Video, a film and music podcast and blog based in Glasgow. He has a Masters degree in Scottish Literature from the University of Glasgow that will never have any practical application. You are on a hiding to nothing if you follow him on Twitter expecting any kind of hot publishing scoop.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Get the latest news and event info straight to your inbox


+44 207 183 2399

Incubation at Ravensbourne | 6 Penrose Way | Greenwich Peninsula | SE10 0EW

© 2019 BookMachine We love your books

%d bloggers like this: